Call to Order - 4:00p

1. Approval of October 2024 meeting minutes

2. Announcements

- Senate: attention is to faculty and academic excellence
- Senate: cornerstone of shared governance representing faculty across the University
- Farewell to Senator Stephanie Bennet, ZSR Library
- ZSR Library Senate election underway
- Medical School Senator election underway

3. Old business

- Emails and connections with Senates at NC Universities most affected by Hurricane Helene
- US News Rankings
- Website updates: bylaws and photos forthcoming
- Potential issues needing planned messaging
 - Space planning: unlocking the core, Campus Master Plan, The Grounds
 - R1 transition
 - Campus Integration
 - SACS/QEP
 - Capital Campaign
 - all major University decisions should include attention to impact on academic excellence

4. Current business

- School of Professional Studies: review representation on the Senate
- Belonging and Inclusion Campus Evaluation: scheduling meeting with Rankin Climate (survey providers) and campus organizers.
- Medical School Promotion and Tenure plan update:
- Standing Committee Reports
- Other report outs from Senate representatives to various school and University committees
- Undergraduate Enrollment report (see attached)
- ** Special Presentation: Start at 4:45

President Susan Wente, Vice President/Athletic Director John Currie, and Athletics Counsel Pete Paukstelis: a review/overview of the details and implications of the House v NCAA case for WFU

(see attached slides for background framing of the presentation – this is not the presentation itself, it is information about legal history and athletics at WFU)

- Open Discussion

5. New Business

- Adjourn - by 5:30p

End notes

Executive Committee Membership:

- Saylor Breckenridge (College/Sociology) President
- Steve Virgil (Law) Vice President
- Ryan Shirey (College/English/Writing Program) Secretary
- Angie Edwards (Medicine) Member-at-large
- Raja Chatterjee (Medicine) Past President
- Mike Cartwright (Medicine) Chair, Medical School Senators
- Amanda Kaufman (Library) Chair, University Integration
- Ellen Kirkman (College/Mathematics) Chair, Fringe Benefits
- Sarah Morath (Law) Chair, Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility (CAFR)
- Jason Parsley (College/Mathematics) Chair, College Senators
- Lauren Reid (Business) Chair, Capital Planning
- Katherine Shaner (Divinity) Chair, Salaries
- Michelle Steward (Business) Chair, Ad Hoc Committee on the Faculty Handbook
- John Sumanth (Business) Chair, Athletics